What You Must Know About Overcoming Your Connecticut Driving Offense
Almost everyone has experienced a traffic offense at some time or other. Traffic offenses can result in some unpleasant consequences such as in a few points on yourdriving record, a raise in insurance premiums, fines and money out of your pocket. And even minor infractions can prevent you from obtaining some types of employment.
Some types of driving offenses in Connecticut, such as DWI/DUI, vehicular homicide and reckless driving, or the accumulation of several infractions in a short period of time, can create serious problems. Penalties can range from suspension of your license, heavy fines, and/or imprisonment. All of these can have a substantial financial consequences and even cause employment loss.
You will need a qualified attorney to represent you!
When do I need a lawyer for a traffic offense?
Consulting the services of an attorney may be beneficial for some driving offenses and may be absolutely necessary for others!
An attorney may be helpful even for smaller charges. An attorney can better represent you, negotiate, reduce or dismiss the charge and consequenlty you can keep your insurance premiums lower.
If you are charged with a offense that could result in incarceration or loss of your licence, you need a lawyer. These offenses include cases involving; DUI (drunk driving), reckless driving, hit and run, involuntary manslaughter, habitual offender, or driving on a suspended or revoked license.
Will your license get suspended if you have a speeding ticket in Connecticut?
If you’re doing 80MPH in a 40MPH zone and receive a ticket, you’ll know that you’ll get a big fine but will your license be suspended?
This is the way the law reads for CT.
Driving more than 85 MPH is an automatic reckless driving criminal charge.
Regardless of any other facts, road conditions, time of day, or whether you were otherwise driving safely and carefully.
You can also be charged with reckless by any driving behavior that the “police officer” decides is reckless or endangers the lives of others on the road, but these factors are not explicitly defined or stated under Connecticut law, so the charge can be very subjective.
Remember the courts do not suspend or reinstate driver’s licenses. That is done by the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Minimum suspension (30 days) plus the fines and court costs.
Maximum suspension (90 days) plus the fines and court costs.
Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
Being caught drinking and driving and cause a lot of stress. There's no doubt about the fact that the majority of us are unfamiliar with the laws surrounding drinking and driving in the state of Connecticut, and this can further add to the stress that ...
Drunk Driving Facts
Drinking and driving is a very serious offense in any state in the United States. Understanding the drunk driving facts in the state of Connecticut, however, can not only help you to avoid this problem but it can help you further understand why you sho...
Many times, the type of charges that you're going to be up against whenever you need a traffic lawyer are going to be rather mild. These charges often stem from traffic tickets, such as speeding or perhaps crossing the yellow line. Although you may not...
Get help with your legal issues.
Call the Law Offices of Erin M. Field, Hartford Connecticut Defense Lawyer at (860) 749-8313